sfAntiBruteForcePlugin project

3 gravatar By Grégoire Marchal - 12/11/2010

Lately, I've created a small web application to play with the twitter API. My application is secured by a classic login/password: basic. I quickly wanted to add security on it, especially against brute force attacks. This kind of attack consists in trying a lot of login/password combinations on a form to find out a valid one (more info). I searched more information about this topic and hoped I found a symfony plugin. Result: no plugin, but a lot of interesting informations that encouraged me to start developing the wanted plugin! So I will summarize those informations here, make some kind of collaborative specifications for my plugin, and I hope you'll help me!

The most of informations I've collected come from this french (sorry...) tutorial: un anti brute-force léger et rapide.

The principle : prevent an user, and even more a bot, from trying a huge number of login/password combination on a given authentication page. Therefore, we have to count the failed attempts of users, and forbid them to try again when a given threshold is reached. Here are the things to specify.

What to use to identify attempts?

The client IP? Bad idea, this data is not reliable. Most of hackers will know how to modify it and will be able to make an infinity of attempts.

The PHP sessions? No, just erase the cookies and you're done...

On the login used for authentication? Well, it's not an ideal solution, but it's the best I've found for now. The main inconvenience is that anyone who knows your login can block your account...

If you have other ideas, let me know!

How to store the attempts counts?

In a database? It seems to be the more natural solution. But some projects don't use a database (and it's my case here!). I think it would be too intrusive to require a database and an ORM just for that.

In files? It's the way the above tutorial has chosen. About speed and load, I don't which way is the best. But this solution is less intrusive since it will work with any symfony project (I think).

If you have other ideas...

Where to proceed in symfony code?

At first, I thought I would have to create a filter to control accesses upstream. But the problem is, if I use the login to identify attempts, I need it to increase its counter. I also need to know if this attempts is a success or not. So I need to be in the controller to do that, in the action that manage the authentication process. So the developer will add that kind of call when an attempt fails:

sfAntiBruteForceManager::notifyFailedAuthentication($identifier);

This method will increment the counter for this user.

But before the authentication attempt, we have to check that the user can try (that he hasn't reached his threshold):

if (sfAntiBruteForceManager::canTryAuthentication($identifier))
{
  // ...
}

sfGuard integration ?

Later, probably. Don't put the cart before the horse! Let's keep it in mind.

So, here are the first leads for writing this plugin which will be, in my opinion, very useful for the developers who care about security (aka good developers!). I look forward to your remarks, suggestions, ideas!

PS : follow the evolutions on the official page of sfAntiBruteForcePlugin.

Watch your whereIn!

0 gravatar By Grégoire Marchal - 10/17/2010

Doctrine is cool, it makes live easier, we don't deal with big SQL queries any more, great. But sometimes it's vicious. Last example with the whereIn() method. On the face of it, there shouldn't be any problem, it just converts this:

$query->whereIn('id', array(1, 2, 3))

Into this:

AND id IN (1, 2, 3)

Let's imagine that the array parameter is dynamically built, and that sometimes it's empty... What's happen then? With MySQL, the "IN ()" instruction returns an error. What does Doctrine do? Well... Nothing. It ignores this criteria and executes the query, returning unexpected results... An exception is supposed to be thrown, but a bug prevents it. A ticket is opened... Be careful!

sfProjectAnalyserPlugin: is your code beautiful?

2 gravatar By Grégoire Marchal - 09/16/2010

If you believe you are a Symfony boss, if you think that your code respects the strictest standards, if you're sure that all your methods are documented, if you never calls sfContext::getInstance(), then you can face the terrific sfProjectAnalyserPlugin!

This plugin allows to measure the quality and the volumetry of a project. It counts the applications, modules and actions, checks the size of the functions and templates, alerts when it finds out abnormal stuff, and many other things.

It's not only a toy to generate some statistics about your work. It becomes definitely useful when it is used as a continuous integration tool. Imagine that you start a brand new Symfony project: if every morning, after your fried bacon, you launch the analysis and you follow the precious advices of the result page, you'll have in the end a beautiful, clean and easy to debug code. Then you'll become the king of oil and you could make a huge donation to the kind developers of this plugin!

And if you think it isn't strict enough (or too strict, shame on you :)), it's OK! It's completely configurable through a YAML file.

The analyse can be launched using a Symfony command :

symfony project:analyse --application="frontend" --env="dev" > analysis.html

It generates a HTML report that you can see using your favourite browser:

sfProjectAnalyserPlugin on sf sandbox

You can find more informations on the sfProjectAnalyserPlugin plugin page.

PS: you might have guessed that I'm one of the developers of this wonderful plugin! Even if my contribution has been modest for now... (I'll catch up, Loïc!)

ValidatorEmailList : valider une liste d'e-mails

0 gravatar Par Grégoire Marchal - 25/01/2011

Voici un petit validateur pas très compliqué mais pratique, qui valide une liste d'adresses e-mails présentes dans un champ type "textarea".

class ValidatorEmailList extends sfValidatorBase
{
  public function doClean($value)
  {
    $aValues = explode("\n", $value);
    $aValues = array_map('trim', $aValues);
    $aEmails = array();
    
    $oEmailValidator = new sfValidatorEmail();

    foreach ($aValues as $sEmail)
    {
      // ignore empty lines
      if ($sEmail != '')
      {
        // verify email syntax using sfValidatorEmail
        // sfValidatorError exception will be thrown if invalid
        $oEmailValidator->clean($sEmail);
        $aEmails[] = $sEmail;
      }
    }

    return $aEmails;
  }
}

Ça me fait penser qu'on pourrait améliorer ça en passant le validateur (ici "new sfValidatorEmail()") en option de ValidatorEmailList pour pouvoir valider des listes de ce qu'on veut en fait... Enfin je vous laisse le faire !

Projet sfAntiBruteForcePlugin

7 gravatar Par Grégoire Marchal - 11/12/2010

Récemment j'ai créé une petite application web pour jouer un peu avec les API de twitter, qui est sécurisée par un classique login / mot de passe : sécurité basique. Je me suis rapidement dit qu'il faudrait ajouter une sécurité pour parer aux attaques de type "brute force". Pour rappel, ce type d'attaque consiste à tenter un maximum de couples login / mot de passe sur un formulaire en espérant trouver des identifiants qui fonctionnent (plus d'info). J'ai rapidement cherché quelques informations à ce sujet et espéré trouvé un plugin symfony tout fait (on peut espérer non ?). Résultat : pas de plugin, mais quelques informations intéressantes qui m'ont donné envie de me lancer dans le développement du fameux plugin que je cherchais ! Je vais donc recenser ces informations ici, faire une sorte de cahier des charges collaboratif pour mon plugin, et j'espère bien que vous allez m'y aider !

La plupart des informations intéressantes que j'ai récoltées proviennent de ce tutoriel : un anti brute-force léger et rapide.

Le principe : empêcher un utilisateur et surtout un robot de tenter une infinité de couples login / mot de passe sur une page d'authentification donnée. Pour cela, on doit compter les tentatives erronées des utilisateurs, et les empêcher à partir d'un certain seuil de tentatives par unité de temps. Voici les questions qui en découlent.

Sur quoi se baser pour compter les tentatives ?

Sur l'IP du client ? Mauvaise idée, cette donnée n'est pas fiable, la plupart des hackers sauront la modifier et pourront donc faire une infinité de tentatives.

Sur les sessions ? Non plus, il suffit d'effacer le cookie et c'est reparti pour d'autres tentatives...

Sur le login utilisé pour l'authentification ? Ce n'est pas une solution parfaite, mais c'est la meilleure que j'ai trouvé à ce jour. L'inconvénient principal est que n'importe qui peut bloquer le compte de quelqu'un s'il connait son login...

Si vous avez d'autres idées, je suis preneur !

Comment stocker le nombre de tentatives effectuées ?

En base de données ? Ca semble être la solution la plus logique. Néanmoins, certains projets ne fonctionnent pas avec une base de données (et c'est mon cas ici !). Ce serait un peu intrusif de devoir créer une base pour ça, de charger un ORM etc.

Dans des fichiers ? C'est la solution qu'a choisi l'article ci-dessus. Niveau rapidité, charge etc., il faudrait faire un comparatif avec l'utilisation d'un ORM pour savoir qui est le meilleur. Cette solution est moins envahissante dans la mesure où elle fonctionnerait sur tous les projets symfony (à ma connaissance).

Si vous avez d'autres idées...

Où intervenir au niveau du code symfony ?

A la base, j'avais pensé qu'il faudrait faire un filtre pour contrôler les accès en amont dans l'application. Le problème est que, si je pars sur la solution d'utiliser le login pour compter les tentatives, j'ai besoin de ce login pour incrémenter son compteur de tentatives en cas d'échec. J'ai donc également besoin de savoir si la tentative d'autentification est un échec ou non. Pour cela, j'ai donc besoin d'internvenir au niveau du contrôleur, dans l'action qui gère l'authentification. J'imagine que le développeur devra ajouter un appel de ce genre lorsqu'une tentative d'authentification échouera :

sfAntiBruteForceManager::notifyFailedAuthentication($identifier);

Cette méthode aura pour but d'incrémenter le compteur d'échec pour cet utilisateur.

Il faudrait également, avant la tentative d'authentification, vérifier que l'utilisateur qui s'apprête à s'authentifier a le droit de le faire :

if (sfAntiBruteForceManager::canTryAuthentication($identifier))
{
  // ...
}

Faut-il s'intégrer au plugin sfGuard ?

Dans un second temps peut-être, on va pas mettre la charrue avant les bœufs ! Mais bon, à creuser.

Voilà pour les premières pistes pour la réalisation de ce petit plugin qui me semblerait très utile pour tout développeur sensible à la sécurité de son application (aka tout bon développeur !). J'attends vos remarques / suggestions / idées avec impatience !

PS : suivez les évolutions sur la page officielle de sfAntiBruteForcePlugin.

Gare au whereIn !

2 gravatar Par Grégoire Marchal - 17/10/2010

Doctrine c'est cool, ça simplifie la vie, on n'a plus à se palucher des énormes requêtes SQL à la main, ça fait plaisir. Mais parfois c'est vicieux Doctrine. Dernier exemple en date avec la méthode whereIn(). A priori, rien de compliqué avec cette méthode, elle transforme gentiment ça :

$query->whereIn('id', array(1, 2, 3))

En ça :

AND id IN (1, 2, 3)

Mais imaginons que le tableau que vous lui passez est construit dynamiquement, et que parfois il est vide... Que se passe-t-il dans ce cas ? Avec MySQL, l'instruction "IN ()" retourne une erreur. Que fait Doctrine ? Eh bien... Rien. Il ignore le critère et effectue la requête, donnant des résultats souvent trompeurs... Une exception est censée être levée, mais une coquille dans le code fait qu'elle ne l'est pas. Un ticket est ouvert chez Doctrine... Attention donc !